The Rolling Ball

Walking on the streets on this fast running urban city, on a bright yet calm and cool Sunday afternoon which unlike other weekdays is quite silent, peaceful and empty! I came across this delightful scene, which took me 10 years back in the memory lane .. the mini me in the white school shirt standing on the big playgrounds of my alma mater, St. Stanislaus high school…………
” I remember how fast we used to try and finish our tiffin boxes during the lunch break,taking big big pieces of chapati..first piece.. and even before it gets swallowed the second piece rushed into the mouth! all this speed and hurry just to make sure that we could utilize the maximum of our 45 minutes lunch break to enjoy a game of football.. We were kids then, but for us the game was no child’s play ๐Ÿ˜› We used to consider it nothing less than a battle!! planning, running, fighting, and ENJOYING it all to the best… We used to make sure we run faster then the time and before the warning bell rings we are done with our game. But the time always fell short.
The post break periods used to have its own fun.. the change of colour of school uniform from white to light brown, rugged knees, sweaty odour and tired body surely was a bad combo for creating an environment to learn ๐Ÿ˜› and i guess the teachers also knew it well:P all we waited then was for the school to get over!!
As the school’s final bell rang.. I again used to rush to the grounds where with a group of friends with whom I used to enjoy the game of bat-ball (cricket was a big word for us then :P). owing to the fact that there were no open places nearby my home where i could play, I tried to finish my qouta of game in the school and leave ๐Ÿ˜›
this surely had its own problems.. I was always welcomed home with mom’s shoutings and tension ๐Ÿ˜›
but slowly slowly as years passed by I think she actually convinced herself that my school ended at 5 30 and not 4 :P……… ”
As I was standing there lost in my own thoughts,the chirpy sound of the rolling ball was getting closer and closer which moved me down more and more towards those golden days….And suddenly a voice of a group of young boys from across the street fell sharply on my ears – ” bhaiya ball please” and i woke up from my thoughts!… seeing those young boys in those half pants and colorful tee’s brought a large smile on my face.. I picked the ball up, crossed the street handed over the ball to one of the kid and from my whole heart came the word “ENJOY”!!!!!

5 thoughts on “The Rolling Ball

  1. Thank you for taking me back into those cherished golden days unforgettable , special and different for each one of us!! After a long busy day understanding Physics 2 , this article really made my day!!!๐Ÿ˜

Leave a Reply

